## EXXARO RESOURCES LIMITED

Incorporated in the Republic of South Africa (Registration Number: 2000/011076/06) JSE share code: EXX ISIN: ZAE000084992 ADR code: EXXAY Bond Code: EXXAY ISIN No: ZAG000160326 Bond Code: EXX05 ISIN No: ZAG000160334 ("Exxaro" or the "Company")

## **CHANGES TO THE BOARD**

In compliance with paragraph 3.59 of the JSE Limited Listings Requirements and paragraph 6.39 of the Debt Listings Requirements, shareholders are hereby advised that following a thorough recruitment and nomination process, the board of directors ("Board") has approved the appointment of Dr Pumla Mnganga, Ms Karin Ireton, Mr Billy Mawasha and Mr Ben Magara to the Board as independent non-executive directors, with effect from 7 February 2022.

Dr Pumla Mnganga obtained her doctorate from the Wits Business School, her MBL from the University of South Africa. She is the founder and Managing Director of Lehumo Women's Investment Holdings, a woman owned and managed investment holding company. Prior to this, she was employed as an HRD/transformation executive for the Tongaat Hulett Group, and previously as a change management senior consultant at Deloitte. Dr Mnganga was the Chairperson of the University of KwaZulu Natal and the past chairperson of Siyazisa Trust, a large rural community. She currently serves as an independent non-executive director on Altron Limited, Adcorp Holdings Limited, Spar Group Limited and Novus Holdings.

Ms Karin Ireton holds a master's degree in International Political Economy from the University of Leeds and a number of career related courses. She is an international specialist in sustainability issues. Karin has over 30 years of experience in sustainability matters, in coal power generation, mining and banking sectors. She is currently an independent consultant focused on strategies for growth, risk identification and management, transparency, and disclosure. A significant focus of her current work is the impact of climate change on business and the need to reduce emissions and adapt business strategies. Prior to this she was the Group Head of Sustainability for Standard Bank Group and a Head of Sustainable Development for Anglo American Public Limited Company

Mr Billy Mawasha obtained a BSc Engineering (Electrical) degree from the University of Cape Town and completed a number of career related and leadership courses. He is a certified director with the Institute of directors of Southern Africa. Billy offers strong operational and technical leadership experience in the mining sector as former Kumba Iron Ore head of operations and integration and former Country Head of Rio Tinto in South Africa. He is the founder of an investment company, and also provides strategic and technical leadership to his investee companies. He is currently a nonexecutive director of Murray & Roberts Holdings Limited and Metair Investments Limited.

Mr Ben Magara holds a BSc (Mining Engineering) Honours degree. A mining veteran of over 30 years, including business leadership and operational management in both underground and surface mining as well as soft and hard rock mining. Some of his past roles include the Executive Head (Engineering and Projects) for Anglo American Platinum, and Chief Executive Officer of Anglo Coal South Africa. Ben's most recent role was Chief Executive of Lonmin Public Limited Company. His previous board memberships include Anglo American South Africa, Foskor, Rustenburg Platinum Mines and Chairman of Richards Bay Coal Terminal. He is the founder and chairman of Africa



Mining & Metals Group and current non-executive director of both The Weir Group Public Limited Company and Grindrod Limited.

The board takes pleasure in extending a warm welcome to Dr Mnganga, Ms Ireton, Mr Mawasha and Mr Magara and looks forward to their valuable contribution to the Group.

Shareholders are further advised that at the Annual General Meeting ("AGM") to be held on 25 May 2022, Mr Erasmus Jacobus Myburgh will retire as a director and chairman of the remuneration, and member of the audit and risk and business resilience committees effective on that date. Mr Myburgh was appointed to the board as an independent non-executive director in September 2016. The Board wishes to extend its gratitude to him for his valuable and outstanding contribution to Exxaro over the years.

The board considers succession planning and board refreshment as a key element for a sustainable company.

AT Ndoni Group Company Secretary

3 February 2022

Lead Sponsor to Exxaro Resources Limited Absa Corporate and Investment Bank, a division of Absa Bank Limited



Joint Equity Sponsor to Exxaro Resources Limited Tamela Holdings Proprietary Limited



