**Absa Group Limited** 

Incorporated in the Republic of South Africa

Registration number: 1986/003934/06

JSE share code: ABG ISIN: ZAE000255915

("Absa Group")

## REAPPOINTMENT OF NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

With reference to the announcement on 6 January 2020, shareholders are informed that René van Wyk will rejoin the Absa Group Board as a non-executive director from 1 August 2020. René will be regarded as an independent non-executive director after a period of 12 months, that is from 1 August 2021.

René originally joined the Board on 1 February 2017 as an independent non-executive director. He served as the Group Chief Executive from 1 March 2019 to 14 January 2020 and will be rejoining the Board following a six-month cooling off period.

Johannesburg 31 July 2020

## **Enquiries:**

Nadine Drutman (Group Company Secretary)
Nadine.Drutman@absa.africa

Tel: 011 350 5347

## Independent lead sponsor to Absa Group:

J.P. Morgan Equities South Africa Proprietary Limited

## **Joint sponsor to Absa Group:**

Corporate and Investment Bank, a division of Absa Bank Limited