**Absa Group Limited** 

Incorporated in the Republic of South Africa

Registration number: 1986/003934/06

JSE share code: ABG ISIN: ZAE000255915

("Absa Group")

## APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

In accordance with paragraph 3.59 (a) of the JSE Listings Requirements, shareholders are advised of the appointment of Professor Ihron Rensburg as independent non-executive director to the Board of Absa Group with effect from 1 October 2019.

Ihron was Vice Chancellor and Principal of the University of Johannesburg (UJ) from 2006 to 2017. Prior to his position at UJ, Ihron worked for the South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC) as Chief Executive: Strategic Corporate Services, and the Department of Education as Deputy Director General (where he was tasked to oversee and lead the development and implementation of the post-apartheid national education curriculum and policy).

Ihron is currently the Chairman of the South African National Commission for UNESCO. He is also Senior Advisor to the Principal and Visiting Professor at Kings College, London. He has extensive strategy, policy development and organisational turnaround and merger experience, complemented by experience in engaging with government, business and civil society.

Ihron holds a Doctor of Laws (Honoris Causa), PhD (International Development Education), MA (Political and Organisational Sociology), and Bachelor of Pharmacy.

Johannesburg 27 September 2019

## **Enquiries:**

Nadine Drutman (Group Company Secretary)
Nadine.Drutman@absa.africa

Tel: 011 350 5347

## Independent lead sponsor to Absa Group:

J.P. Morgan Equities South Africa Proprietary Limited

## **Joint sponsor to Absa Group:**

Corporate and Investment Bank, a division of Absa Bank Limited