Standard Bank Group Limited (Incorporated in the Republic of South Africa) (Registration number 1969/017128/06) South African Share Code: SBK

ISIN: ZAE000109815

SBKP: ZAE000038881 (First preference shares) SBPP: ZAE000056339 (Second preference shares)

Namibian Share Code: SNB

ISIN: ZAE000109815

JSE bond codes: SBS, SBK, SBN, SBR, ETN series SSN series and CLN series (all JSE listed bonds issued in terms of The Standard Bank of South Africa Limited's Domestic Medium Term

Note Programme and Credit Linked Note Programme)

("Standard Bank Group" or "the Company")

RETIREMENT AND APPOINTMENT OF NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTORS

Standard Bank Group shareholders are advised that Deputy Chairman Hongli Zhang and Yagan Liu have retired as non-executive directors of the board of directors of the Company ("the Board").

In their stead, the Company has appointed Messrs Yang Kaisheng and Wang Wenbin as non-executive directors with immediate effect. Mr Yang Kaisheng has also been appointed as Deputy Chairman. These appointments were effected in terms of an agreement between the Industrial and Commercial Bank of China Limited ("ICBC"), a 20% shareholder in the Company and Standard Bank Group, wherein ICBC is entitled to nominate two non-executive directors for appointment to the Board, one of whom would serve as deputy chairman.

Mr. Yang joined ICBC in 1985 and served in several positions including as Deputy Chairman of the Board of Directors, Executive Director and President of ICBC from October 2005 to May 2013, Chairman of the board of directors of ICBC Credit Suisse Asset Management Company Limited from 2005 to 2010, Deputy Chairman of the board of directors and Non-Executive Director of Standard Bank Group from 2008 to 2010.

Mr. Wang joined ICBC in 2000. He served as Senior Executive Vice President of ICBC Xi'an Branch from November 2011 to September 2013. Mr. Wang previously served in several positions in ICBC including Division Head of Network Management in Human Resource Department, Division Head of Strategic Investment and IPO in Restructuring Office, Division Head of Mergers and Acquisitions in Corporate Strategy and Investor Relations Department, and Deputy General Manager of Corporate Strategy and Investor Relations Department.

The Board welcomes Messrs Yang Kaisheng and Wang Wenbin to the Group and further expresses its appreciation to Messrs Hongli Zhang and Yagan Liu for their contribution to the Standard Bank Group.

Johannesburg 16 January 2014 Lead Sponsor
The Standard Bank of South Africa Limited

Independent Sponsor Deutsche Securities (SA) Proprietary Limited